Student Resources

2021 Capstone Showcase: Community Impact

2021 Capstone Showcase: Community Impact

The Community Impact Award recognizes a design that addresses critical community needs related to infrastructure development and planning, health, and quality of life resulting in community impact that aids in economic development, safety, and/or overall public welfare.

Thank you to our 2021 Community Impact judges:

  • Angel Jackson, UGA Archway Partnership
  • Don Harris, KCI Technologies, Inc.
  • TJ Imberger, Spalding County Parks, Public Grounds and Public Works
  • Jay Gross, UPS
  • Stan Brown, Georgia Municipal Association
  • Hailey Morelli, Gilbane Building Company
  • Will Baynes, Whiting-Turner Contracting Company
  • Julie Secrist, Meritage Land Development
  • Walt McBride, UGA - Carl Vinson Institute of Government
  • Mikala Bush, NCR Corporation 
  • Brian Hetherington, Huber Engineered Woods
  • Steven Scarboro, Georgia Power Company

 Team CI-1

Cochran Road Over Deep Creek Bridge Redesign

Team CI-2

Jacobs Loch Lomond Trail and New Hope Road Culvert Redesign

Team CI-3

Accessibility Improvements (Team 2)

Team CI-4

Seizure Detection and Recording Device

Team CI-5

Woodruff Scout Camp Waterfront and Water System Redesign

Team CI-6

Accessibility Improvements (Team 1)

Team CI-7

Main Street - Highway 17 Improvements

Team CI-8

Accessibility Improvements (Team 3)

Team CI-9

Atlanta East Logistics Center Site Evaluation and Design​

Team CI-10

Stormwater Remediation at Southern Crescent Technical College (SCTC)

Team CI-11

Bert Adams Scout Camp Waterfront and Front Entrance Redesign

Team CI-12

Bee Activity Monitor

Team CI-13

Gordon Street Intersection Redesign

Team CI-14

Thomson-McDuffie Church Street/First Avenue Drainage Design and Flood Prevention

Team CI-15

Electronic Pill Container

Team CI-16

City of Thomson Multi-Jurisdictional Mega Park Development

Team CI-17

Lakeside Manor Apartment Building Structural Design

Team CI-18

Lakeside Manor Site Design

Team CI-19

SR-10 Interchange Redesign at Danielsville Road

Team CI-20

SR 37 at Ochlockonee River Bridge Replacement

Team CI-21

Fort Pulaski National Monument Wastewater Solution Project

Team CI-22

Boardwalk Design for BioSTEAM School Wetlands

Team CI-23

Feasibility Study for Technology Park Greenway Phase II

Team CI-24

Oakwood Downtown 2030

Team CI-25

Spalding County Parks and Public Grounds – Carver Road Park Development

Team CI-26

SR 124/Scenic Highway At Webb Gin House Road Intersection Improvement

Team CI-27

MacDonald Overhead Disinfectant System to Fight COVID-19 & Other Viruses

Team CI-28

Modernization of a One-Lane Bridge

Team CI-29

Jones Bridge Pedestrian Bridge

Team CI-30

State Bridge Pocket Park

Team CI-31

Tybee Island - Designing for Community Resilience and Adaptation

Team CI-32

City of Thomson Inflow and Infiltration Investigation

Team CI-33

Development and Testing of a Peanut Depth Sensor