Faculty Awarded UGA Innovative Instruction Grants

Students listening in a lecture hallFive College of Engineering faculty members were among the recipients of 26 UGA Summer 2013 Innovative Instruction Faculty Grants, which are designed to improve teaching, announced Dean E. Dale Threadgill. Funded through the Office of the Vice President for Instruction, in collaboration with the Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, each grant awarded provides $5,000 for faculty to enhance teaching and learning through innovative instructional projects, such as redesign of course curricula and materials, integration of new techniques or pedagogical strategies for a course, or exploration of a new instructional technique. CENGR faculty members and their projects include:

  • Kyle Johnsen and Hillary Tanner: “Mobile Immersive Learning Environments for Engineering”
  • Nadia Kellam: “3D Printing and Maker Learning Communities in the First Year Mechanical Engineering Program: Encouraging Retention and Professional Identity Development”
  • Zion Tsz-Ho Tse and William Kisaalita: “Do-It-Yourself Approach for Learning Engineering Physiology”

More than 92 innovative instruction grant proposals from across campus were reviewed.  This is the second year of the program. “I am extremely proud of our faculty for their commitment to expanding beyond traditional instruction methods in order to improve teaching and learning for our engineering students,” said Dean Threadgill. “This is just one example of the dedicated, outstanding faculty members we have at UGA’s College of Engineering.”

Join a cutting-edge engineering program at a time-honored university

Apply Today Make A Gift